Wait on the Lord…..

Thank you© 2012 ShareFaith, Letters & Arts Inc., All Rights Reserved for use of the picture

I believe it is time to introduce myself. My name is Janine VanDenBerg. I am more or less in charge of the web site and I have written some blogs and did not put my name to them because I want all the glory to go to God. But just the other day someone asked me who’s testimony did they read. Actually it is God’s way of allowing the world to know that through Him and Him only am I able to grow in the Spirit. But pretty much enough of the rambling.

Isaiah 40:31

New King James Version (NKJV)

31 But those who wait on the Lord
Shall renew their strength;
They shall mount up with wings like eagles,
They shall run and not be weary,
They shall walk and not faint.

This verse above had me thinking most of the night and going through the steps that the awesome Father has taken me. I am a very faithful follower of the L.A. Dream Center. I was blessed in my third year of serving the Lord faithfully; to be able to attend a Short Term Mission trip there.While I was there the first time all I could think of is it would be so awesome to do my internship there. I was willing to bend over backwards to learn the ropes of serving the Lord and showing His love through all our actions to those who are less fortunate. Because of my background of “eighteen years of drug addiction, drug dealing, alcoholism and prostitution” I had not quite understood that I had learned the hardest part. That was being able to trust and obey my Father. But when you finally turn your life over you realize that there is alot more freedom in this world by following the Lord. But God had carried me through four deaths and I was still here so He defiantly has me here for a reason. 

But when I got started at the Dream Center, God placed me right in the middle of downtown Los Angeles. It was only two blocks away from the Police Department. God placed me with Chris VanWinkle in the “Under the Bridges” Ministry. We had to go out to skid row everyday and hand out tickets for free food. That does not seem so bad but this place smelled of urine, you go and see blocks and blocks of old rained on refrigerator boxes where people and children actually lived. As you walk down the road you see a crack head smoking crack right out in the open, you see a heroin addict.  shooting up right in front of you, you see drug deals right there in front of you, maybe some prostitution going on in broad daylight. But these people do not seem to be phased by the life style. Most probably learned how to dissociate and ignore all things around them. But I felt very comfortable there. I felt as though I was at home because of the years on the streets I lived in Orlando, Florida. I was over whelmed with joy. I could finally serve God to the best of my ability and feel comfortable with these amazing children and lost souls of God.

 This is where we come back to last night. I stayed awake in amazement of the patience and timing God has for us. I remember coming back to Roanoke with the desire and want to serve Him immediately. But I too still was a young Christian and had to heal more with my mental illnesses. Or please allow me to word that a bit better. I had to learn to have more faith in God that as I grew in Him, my mental illnesses began to disappear. This is where this verse came in last night that got the Spirit stirred up and I stayed awake praising the Father of the blessings I have received from him since the first Short Term Mission trip in June of 2006.

Isaiah 40:31

New King James Version (NKJV)

31 But those who wait on the Lord
Shall renew their strength;
They shall mount up with wings like eagles,
They shall run and not be weary,
They shall walk and not faint.

God was telling me He had all this planned and all I had to do was follow Him. I struggled with that for a long time and God waited and carried me through the messes I made. Knowing all along I was going to grow into the warrior He wanted.

I often catch myself asking God ; “Why did you not lead me to United Christian Inner-City Ministry” years ago? Why did I have to wait so long. Well the answer is: All things are done in His timing and His timing only. Had God brought me over to the church sooner, I may not have been able to follow through with doing His job as He wanted it done. I may have even gotten bored and started another project. But praise God about October of last year they finally diagnosed me with A.D.D. and I was given a medication that allows me to start and finish projects instead of starting so many things and never finishing a thing. I know God blessed me with an amazing mentor Pastor Mike English. He and his wife Billie have so many dreams to do through God and bring glory to God’s name. I too have dreams and I know now I can start and finish them praise God. All and all to wait on God and to follow His every move is the best way of doing things and I can say Janine VanDenBerg is a warrior and servant of God’s truly now because all I want to do is serve Him and sow seeds and show His love through all my actions. NOT MY LOVE but God’s love. It is just a simple thing of saying to yourself everyday; “Are you dead yet?” In other words we need to die to ourselves and live for God every second of everyday. All I can say this morning is THANK YOU FATHER for having PATIENCE with me and you will continue to have patience  as I grow in you. God bless and have a wonderful day.

Please remember these verses:

Galatians 6:3

New King James Version (NKJV)

For if anyone thinks himself to be something, when he is nothing, he deceives himself.

John 1:3

New King James Version (NKJV)

All things were made through Him, and without Him nothing was made that was made.

Also a verse to pounder on is:

Luke 17:3-4

New King James Version (NKJV)

Take heed to yourselves. If your brother sins against you,[a] rebuke him; and if he repents, forgive him. And if he sins against you seven times in a day, and seven times in a day returns to you,[b] saying, ‘I repent,’ you shall forgive him.”

Again God bless

2 Comments

Filed under child like faith, church, God's Disciples, God's love, God's love and mercy, God's Mercy, Help with food, Help with survival, Homeless, Inspirational, Jesus knows, Teen Homelessness, Testimony, Under the Bridge Ministry, United Christian Inner-City Ministry

2 responses to “Wait on the Lord…..

  1. I wanted to compose you the very small observation to finally say thank you again considering the stunning things you have shown on this website. It has been certainly strangely open-handed of you to deliver unhampered all some people might have made available for an e book in order to make some profit on their own, particularly given that you could have tried it in case you considered necessary. The basics likewise served to provide a great way to know that most people have the same dreams really like my very own to figure out lots more when it comes to this condition. I know there are lots of more pleasurable situations in the future for many who start reading your blog post.

  2. I savour, lead to I discovered just what I used to be having a look for. You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

Leave a Reply

